Home   >>  


Tuesday, 15 April 2014, 11:08

Shikhar Dhawan Wiki

Shikhar Dhawan is a left-handed opening batsman and occasional right-arm offbreak bowler. He made his first-class debut for Delhi in November 2004. He plays for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in Indian Premier League. He made his international debut against Australia in October 2010 at Visakhapatnam. He made his Test debut against the same opposition in March 2013 at Mohali and scored the fastest century by any batsman on Test debut (187 runs off 174 balls).


Shikhar Dhawan was born on 5 December 1985 in Delhi, India. He has attended St. Mark's Secondary Public School in New Delhi's Paschim Vihar. He was an average student, but he was very good at sports.

Personal Profile

Full name : Shikhar Dhawan
Birth place : Delhi, India
Date of birth : 5 December 1985
Age : 28 years
Height : 6'
Weight : 75 kgs (approx)
Occupation : Cricketer
Career start : November 16, 2004
Batting Style : Left-handed
Bowling Style : Right-arm off break

Shikhar Dhawan


Shikhar has played for India in 2004 Under 19 Cricket World Cup. He was the "Player of the Tournament" and the highest run scorer (505 runs at an average of 84.16). He represented Delhi in the 2004-05 Ranji Trophy season. Tarak Sinha is Dhawan's cricket coach. Shikhar has made his India International ODI debut against Australia in 2010. In his first 5 ODIs he scored only 69 runs and was subsequently dropped from the Indian team. But he came back with full of energy and confidence.

He played a Prominent role for the Indian team who won ICC champions trophy 2013. After successful T20 and domestic first class seasons, Shikhar Dhawan was recalled to the Indian test side to replace Virendra Sehwag in the 3rd Test match against the Australians on 14 March, 2013. He scored a quick fire 187 which eventually won India the test match. He became the fastest debutant to score a test century.


Shikhar Dhawan was born to Mahendra Pal Dhawan and Sunaina Dhawan. He has a younger sister, Shreshta Dhawan. The Dhawans are Punjabi Jats and his family lives in west Delhi.


Shikhar Dhawan is married to Ayesha Mukherjee on 30 October 2012. They have got married as per Sikh weddeing customs in Vasant Kunj Gurudwara, South Delhi. Ayesha Mukherjee has two daughters of age 8 years and 12 years from her first marriage. Both her daughters adore their new father, Shikhar Dhawan. She speaks fluent Bengali. A love of sports and fitness is a passion that Shikhar Dhawan shares with his wife Ayesha Mukherji. She is an amateur boxer who follows a regular fitness regime.

In Jhalak season 7

Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa, the amazing dance reality show is coming with its latest season 7. Apart from the television celebrities, several sports parsonalities also proved their charm in the show. And now the cricket star Shikhar Dhawan is all set shook his leg in this new season. According to the recent reports, he might be one of the contestants on the show. The sports man is struggling for the dates.

Top Bollywood News

Deepika Padukone profileRoped in Vishal Bhardwaj's next biopic
Deepika Padukone
Shahid Kapoor profileActor found his Dilliwali girlfriend
Shahid Kapoor
Chenab GandhiAn ambitious project of Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Chenab Gandhi
Shah Rukh Khan profileAn Amazing actor of bollywood
Shahrukh Khan
Shraddha Kapoor profileOpposite Varun Dhawan in ABCD 2
Shraddha Kapoor

Test Debut

The fastest century on debut on 16 March 2013, against Australia, at Mohali.
Shikhar Dhawan is the first Indian to score 150+ runs on a debut Test Match.
By scoring 185 on Day 3 in his debut match, Shikhar has surpassed the Indian record for highest score in his debut innings.
At the close of the play on Day 3 in his debut match, his score was 185 not out.

Shikhar Dhawan in IPL

Shikhar started his IPL career with Delhi Daredevils in IPL 1. In IPL 2 and 3, he played for Mumbai Indians. In IPL 4 and 5 he played for Deccan Chargers Hyderabad and in IPL 6, he played for Sun Risers Hyderabad. He played for the Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League and made 4 half centuries. He was selected captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team prior to the start of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

International Career

Test debut (cap 277) : 14 March 2013 v Australia
Last Test : 29 December 2013 v South Africa
ODI debut (cap 188) : 20 October 2011 v Australia
Last ODI : 11 December 2013 v South Africa
ODI shirt no : 25
T20I debut (cap 36) : 4 June 2011 v West Indies
Last T20I : 10 October 2013 v Australia

Domestic Team/Career

2004-Present : Delhi
2008 : Delhi Daredevils
2009-2010 : Mumbai Indians
2011-2012 : Deccan Chargers
2013-present : Sunrisers Hyderabad

Jhalak Dikhla Jaa 7 Winner

Ashish Sharma
Ashish Sharma

Eliminated contestants

VJ Andy info Purab Kohli Kritika Kamra
VJ Andy Purab Kohli Kritika Kamra
Sukhwinder Singh biography Sreesanth Pooja Bose
Sukhwinder Singh Sreesanth Pooja Bose
Kushal Punjabi Kiku Sharda Sophie Chaudhary
Kushal Punjabi Kiku Sharda Sophie Chaudhary
Tara Jean Popowich Akshat Singh info Mouni Roy
Tara Jean Popowich Akshat Singh Mouni Roy
profile of Shakti Mohan Karan Tacker
Shakti Mohan Karan Tacke